An Interesting Experiment

That was Spen growing up...little more weight but same brat

When I was a kid I was a picky little brat. Looking back I see how hard I made it for my mom to feed me. The amount of things she needed to do to accommodate was ridiculous. I don’t like this, I don’t like that, this doesnt have enough sauce, this is gross etc etc. Sorry mom. ๐Ÿ˜‰

I do not know about you guys but I can remember sitting alone at the table as a kid with cold food in front of me, a pout on my face and my mom checking on me momentarily asking me if I was done yet. I did devise clever ways of food disposal but that I will reserve for another article.

As a kid food can be a very funny thing. How much does flavour have to do with it? Perception of the food is far more important. Is it fun and does it look like something I feel like eating today?

I even went through a two week period where I would only eat peanut butter and banana sandwiches. My mom went to the Dr and he assured her I was getting all I needed from this meal and to not worry it will not last. I still remember the morning she put the banana/peanut butter in front of me and I shook my head. “Mom, I don’t want to eat peanut butter and banana no more.” That was 7-year-old Nicholas, as fore mentioned a bit of a brat.

List of things the brat version of me didn’t like: raw tomatoes, onions, mushrooms, zucchini, spinach, wasabi, avocado, cauliflower, horse radish and liver to name a few. Classic kid “nastys”

About two years ago my girlfriend made Shiitake mushrooms. Something about the smell caught me and I had to try it. IT WAS DELICIOUS! I couldn’t believe that I had disliked mushrooms so violently throughout my life. What was there to dislike? At that point I decided I needed to challenge this list of dislikes. I mean this list was created by a 7-year-old. How can I still rely on its accuracy?

One by one I tried what was on the list and to no surprise I loved most of it. 7-year-old me was still right on for a few items that I still gag when eating. The list now looks like this: raw tomatoes, wasabi (japanese horse radish) and horse radish.

How liberating it was to not be a picky brat anymore. I could eat freely and not be the adult with a small pile of “I don’t like” on the side of my plate.

This got me thinking. What other things in life have I formed opinions on based on 7-year-old Nicholas or maybe 15-year-old Nicholas? What limitations have I placed on my life that need to be reevaluated?

Heres where the experiment comes in. First look at the foods you do not like and challenge those dislikes same as I did. But you have to be honest with yourself and open your mind when eating it. Do not allow the 7-year-old you to cringe let the whatever-age-you-are-now you decide. YES SPEN I AM TALKING TO YOU> Try to break out of your picky shell. As you know it is not fun to be picky. People are always trying to get you to eat things you don’t like and you feel bad leaving food behind when at a friends, family or inlaws house (ahem Spen).

You owe it to yourself to look at this and it is the adult thing to do. No more 7-year-old rules governing grown ups. Can you actually say you’ve grown up if you are letting these things limit you?

After the food challenge try looking at other aspects of your life. Have you always been afraid of heights, swimming, dancing, roller coasters. Do you dislike certain kinds of music? Certain kinds of movies? Form a list of all the things you do not like. Think of when that dislike was formed and try to figure out where it is rooted and challenge that dislike. If you still don’t like it and you were honest to yourself well at least you know you are not limiting yourself for no reason.

I would love to hear your results and to hear some of the things that you dislike. Comment and let me know.

Photo 1 courtesy of Loveleena Rajeev

Photo 2 courtesy of www.cartoonstock.com

Photo 3 courtesy ofย startsparking blog

This entry was published on August 19, 2010 at 8:00 PM. It’s filed under Food + Flavour and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “An Interesting Experiment

  1. Karmelle Haynes on said:

    Nicholas Simon,

    This article is spectacular and I love how many times you referenced my dear husbands name, Spen. I hope he reads this article and tries your experiment.

    It would make my life so much easier ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Great article!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Hahaha Thanks Karm. Spen was a big motivating factor in me writing this article. I used to be like him. Not as picky but similar. Life became so much easier when I let that stuff go. It is just not mature to be that way. The experiment will reveal the true dislikes. Check in with him to see if he’s trying it. I will to.

Leave a Reply

